Belén de la Quintana

Born in 1983, in Madrid, in a family of artists. She trained in classical ballet, Bolera school, Spanish and flamenco in the academy of her parents, Santiago de la Quintana and María José Benítez. She complements her training taking classes with teachers such as Isabel Santonja, Merche Esmeralda, “La Tati”, Ciro, Domingo Ortega, Carmela Greco, Beatriz Martín, etc.

In 2000 she began her professional life with the company of Las mil y una noches, dirigida por la familia Losada, with choreography by Antonio Canales and Rafael Estévez. With the show that gave the company its name, she works in renowned festivals and theaters around the world.

Later she moved to Seville to be part of the productions of the Andalusian Dance Center “El café de chinitas” and “El sombrero de tres picos”, directed by José Antonio and represented at important festivals.

Later she works in companies like Rafael Amargo con “Tiempo muerto”; in “Contrastes”, together with Juan Ogalla, Manoli Ríos or Pedro Córdoba; in theaters such as Cirque d’Hivern of Paris, together with Duquende and Chicuelo, and at the Festival of Argelès-sur-Mer with Vicente Amigo.

She participates as a soloist with Daniel Navarro in the opera of “Los Machado” in the Gran de Teatro de Córdoba and in the production of “El mundo por la ventana” by the dance-theater company Bailarinas por los tejados.

From 2004 to the present she combines her performances in companies with her daily work in the best and most important tablaos such as Casa Patas, Las Carboneras, Villa Rosa, Corral de la Morería and Café de Chinitas, in Madrid; El Carmen, Los Tarantos and Cordobés, in Barcelona; and El Flamenco, in Tokyo.

In 2007, she received the prize for the best choreography, along with Guadalupe Torres, for “A miedos, colores” in the choreography contest for Spanish Dance and Flamenco in Madrid.

Later she is part of the company of Pedro Córdoba in the show “Del 2000 y pico” premiered at the Pequeño Gran Vía in Madrid as part of the Original Festival program in 2013.